Silom Thai cooking school, Bangkok

I’m writing this midway through my 11-hour flight from Bangkok to Copenhagen.

Famously ,Bangkok is packed with cheap and amazing food, everywhere you look. It’s nearly impossible to walk down a street without eating something.

On the second day, wandering the streets near my hotel, I discovered a pop-up lunchtime food market inside what seems to be an abandoned warehouse with trees growing inside it, where can get the most amazing chicken curry you’ve ever had in your life for about 20 British pence.

During my time in Thailand I had my mind constantly blown by the freshness of ingredients and the careful balancing of exotic flavours.

Leaving all that behind is, obviously, unthinkable. But with my return date looming, something had to be done.

I checked out a few cooking schools on good old Tripadvisor, and while all of them had great reviews and I’m sure all are worth checking out, I settled on Silom Thai Cooking School for three reasons:

  1. Theirs was the most exciting of all the menus I saw and ticked all my boxes – it had green curry, pad thai, mango sticky rice and more.
  2. They were one of the cheapest at 1000 baht (about £20) per person.
  3. The school was based in the Bang Rak area of the city, and included a market tour. I was dying to see this foodie district.

And I definitely made the right decision.

The class was absolutely amazing, not just because of the food but because of our wonderful instructor, who was so charismatic and funny she should really be on TV. She was also very informative, helpful, genuinely interested in us as people, and had thought of absolutely everything. As a bonus, even the cooking studio was BEAUTIFUL. I honestly wanted to move in.

dsc01966

Instead of cooking everything then having a big feast at the end, we would cook one dish, then eat, then cook, then eat… it went on like this all afternoon and it was glorious.

The first thing we cooked was Tom Yum Kung  or the famous sour and spicy soup with prawns and lemongrass. Here are the ingredients we’d just picked up from the market, chopped and ready to go – there’s tomato, mushroom, garlic, lemongrass, fish sauce, chilli paste, lime leaves, and spring onion.

And of course, chilli.

I thought I liked spicy food, but Thai spicy food is a whole different story.

The Thai chillis we used were tiny but powerful. 2-5 of these is ”foreigner spicy” and 5+ is “Thai spicy”. I used two and it was plenty for me.

The finished product was so good I couldn’t believe I’d actually made it.

dsc01970

I actually made this?

Next was Pad Thai, with the option to make it with shrimp or chicken. Again I was amazed by how good it was.

It’s served with sugar on the side and there’s sugar traditionally used in the cooking, too. Most of us found this so weird and unhealthy that we left it out. Luckily, our teacher confirmed you can definitely out the sugar without it being “inauthentic”.

dsc01980

Pad Thai and one seriously gorgeous tablecloth

We then made a Thai green curry paste as a group effort. It was serious hard work with a big stone pestle and mortar (but don’t worry, I’m told even Thai people cheat and get paste from the supermarket sometimes…)

Here are the green curry ingredients ready to go, and the finished product!

dsc01987dsc01990

As for how it’s done, there was almost nothing that could be called a cooking technique.

The green curry and really everything we made was basically:

  • Get delicious ingredients together and cut them up a bit
  • Throw them in a wok
  • Turn the heat up higher than you’re comfortable with
  • Stand there poking wok contents occasionally with a spatula. Watch them magically turn into something even more delicious within a couple of minutes
  • Put a chilli and some leaves on top. Voila!

Honestly, it would’ve been hard to screw this up. We prepared the ingredients together and then we were closely supervised and helped along by our teacher.

Despite that it still felt good to be technically making this stuff myself and gave me the confidence to think that actually I CAN DO THIS – whereas until now I found Thai cooking intimidatingly different.

dsc01993

We didn’t do the mango sticky rice ourselves but watched as it was demonstrated. We were given this dessert as a treat at the end of the class, when we were all getting a bit full and tired. It was very welcome! AND SO PRETTY

So yep, I LOVED this class. It was one of the highlights of the entire trip.

If you’re in Bangkok, and you’re even remotely interested in food, then you really, really have to take this class. I’m now ready to tackle these dishes in my kitchen back home – that is, if I can find the ingredients!

Happy eating!

Clare

Leave a Reply

